A Natural Way to Eliminate Powdery Mildew

Powdery mildew on pumpkin leaves.

Powdery mildew on pumpkin leaves. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I recently came across a nifty tip for getting rid of powdery mildew. For those fortunate enough to not know what that is, it’s a fine white mildew that covers the leaves and stems of the plant and kills them. My garden was infested with it and I didn’t know what to do.

I came across an article that suggested I spray milk on the plans to kill the mildew. It seemed like an odd idea, but hell, I was desperate, so I tried it. Well, I have to tell you, it really works well! With most of my natural pesticides I have to spray and re-spray the plants until the problem is gone but with the milk spray it worked really fast. I sprayed all the plants three days in a row and then left them. The milk dried on the plants and I thought it would kill them, but the new leaves that have grown are strong and mildew free and the plants seem to be thriving.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, I use Woolworth’s Ayrshire milk because it comes from one of the only herds in South Africa that aren’t pumped full of hormones, etc.

For more on milk and powdery mildew, go to: http://www.growveg.com/growblogpost.aspx?id=242

One thought on “A Natural Way to Eliminate Powdery Mildew

  1. Pingback: Powdery Mildew | RSGardenCareServices

Leave a Reply

