When Snakes Appear – What’s the Spiritual Message?

Last year my friend and I were driving through Zululand, South Africa; it was a hot summer’s day and we were driving home when I caught a liquid movement just up ahead on the side of the road.

A large Black Mamba was about to cross the road, and from it’s reaction, we both spotted each other at the same time, because as I slammed on the breaks the Mamba raised three quarters of it’s body up into the air and then flicked itself backwards –and then it was gone.

Despite growing up in the area, I had never seen a Black Mamba in the wild before! I looked at my friend and she giggled at me – it was a first for her too. We were so exhilarated on the drive home we couldn’t stop talking about it. It had been a mature snake, at least 6 ft, and the speed and strength it had displayed in getting itself out of danger was incredible.

For those of you who don’t know, the Black Mamba is considered to be one of the most dangerous snakes in the world – not just for it’s deadly poison, but because it’s one of the only snakes that’s territorial, which means that this snake does not run away when you come but rather, often attacks and chases people and animals away from it’s nest. Legends and stories abound throughout South Africa detailing the frightening experience of being chased down by a Black Mamba.

As soon as I got home I told my husband all about the snake. He listened to my story and then he became thoughtful. My husband has more than just a bit of the Shaman in him and the first thing he said was, “What’s the message?” At first I didn’t understand, but he clarified, “What message is the snake trying to convey to you?”  I didn’t know.

A week later I had a dream that I was being chased by a big black snake. It eventually bit me in my Achilles heel and I remember feeling horrified for a moment that I would die and then feeling very calm as I decided that I would be fine. I woke up shortly after this but the feeling and the dream lingered with me all day.

I eventually spoke to my husband about it and he said the same thing as before, “What’s the message?”  Again, I didn’t know but this time I really was curious and so I Googled it.

Snakes, it seems, are deeply symbolic animals in the spiritual realms. They represent change and healing, as with shedding of the skin, letting go of the old and damaged and allowing in the new. I liked this meaning – my life was very stuck at that point and change seemed like a nice idea.

However, it also symbolises transmuting poisons-  but this meaning didn’t excite me as much – especially since I’d been bitten in the dream and so I was suspicious that this part of the meaning was also true for me in some way.

My friend, who had seen the Black Mamba with me, phoned me the next morning to tell me that she had just seen another Black Mamba as she was walking to work. She sent me a photo – another big boy! That was two Black Mambas in two weeks – changes were coming for my friend too!

But as I looked into it and thought about it, I realised that the changes were going to be huge- a Black Mamba is a powerful symbol.

Within the month, both my friend and I had had to suddenly move out of our respective homes. She moved to a whole different city, started a new job and basically has a whole new life now.

Me and my little family moved in with my mom as my husband’s company floundered and I wasn’t bringing in a real income to speak of.  A few weeks after we’d moved and were slowly starting to settle in, I found out I had breast cancer.

I remembered the part about transmuting poison and I told myself to calm down. This then, I believed, was what the message had been about – a warning and a signal – not only are things about to change, but they will never be the same again.

After six months of intense life-style changes and taking Cannabis oil, the cancer is now gone – I successfully transmuted the ‘poison’ and I am stronger and healthier for it. I now weigh 20 kg’s less; eat mostly home grown organic vegetables; I am fit, I am full of energy and I have never felt better in my life.

But as with all things, I’d begun to once again feel stuck. I’d managed to rid my body of the cancer and I’d changed my attitude to both my life and my health, but now what?

Then a few days ago while my husband and I were driving a juvenile snake crossed the road in front of us. We slowed and watched it cross and I even remarked how strange it was to see it because it was the middle of winter and most snakes are hibernating.

Then a few days later as I was weeding my little garden, I found a little snake skin that had been shed and left there recently. It looked like a little Brown House Snake – harmless and good at keeping frogs and gecko numbers in check – I was delighted that it had chosen my little garden to make its home.

I called my husband over to come inspect it and as I did I heard his voice from the past echo in my mind, “What’s the message?”

Well, if a Black Mamba signified earth shattering change, then maybe a little Brown House Snake symbolises less violent changes – just a little change perhaps? I can only hope!

All I know is that when snakes appear, change of some kind is sure to follow and the best thing to do is to be ready to roll with it!

For more information on snake dreams go to: http://www.snakedreams.org/snake-dream.html

5 thoughts on “When Snakes Appear – What’s the Spiritual Message?

  1. Thanks for the ping! I found your post very interesting. It’s funny because a few days after nearly stepping on the puff adder I found a snake skin wrapped around a tamboti tree branch. I’m not sure exactly what kind of snake it was, but it was clearly a rear-fanged viper, poisonous, but very unlikely to bite humans. I’m not sure what these signs mean collectively, but snakes certainly appear to be a big part of my life right now. I hope your little brown snake brings pleasant changes in your future!

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it! The way I usually try figure these things out is to think of what characteristics the animals embodies – so with the mamba I knew it would be aggressive change, with the brown house snake, I’m thinking more about changes around the house and changes in managing little things – as the brown house snake helps to manage numbers of rodents, frogs and gecko’s….time will tell! Good luck with your upcoming changes too!

    • In this case I would have to say it’s the actual snake – perhaps not physically alive – but symbols, art, pictures, etc would be indicative of snakes entering your space and bringing their message for you with them.

  2. Thanks for writing this. I too had an experience a few weeks ago here in South Africa with a Black Mamba snake in my garden, and I’ve just been through a Spiritual change with healing. The “transmuting poisons” part seems to be my healing process of “letting go of the old and damaged” (my old self/sins/failures) Luke 9:23 and “allowing in the new” (Christ) John 3:5-7 Interesting. :-) It is well explained here if you’re interested in reading it: http://jahtruth.net/noti.htm – The Divine in me.

Leave a Reply

